Thursday, August 27, 2020

Nominees For 2020 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards

The nominees for this year's Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards - nicknamed 'The Ringos' - have been announced.  Now in its fourth year, the Ringo Awards are intended to honor "creativity, skill, and fun of comics" from the previous year, according to the organization behind it. The awards were named after the celebrated writer/artist Mike Wieringo, who died in 2007 after a star-studded career which included The Flash, Fantastic Four, and his own series Tellos.

This year's nominees were decided by a blue-ribbon panel of judges: Nickelodeon's editorial director of comics Joan Hilty, Dynamite Entertainment vice president James Kuhoric, writer/artist Jill Thompson, University of Illinois' associate professor Carol Tilley, and writer/artist Gene Luen Yang.

The winners of three additional awards (which aren't up for public vote) - The Mike Wieringo Spirit award (which is decided by the Ringo judges) and the Hero Initiative-chosen Lifetime Achievement Award and Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award - will be announced as part of the larger awards ceremony.

The winners of this year's awards will be announced on Saturday, October 24.

Best Cartoonist (writer and artist)
Sarah Andersen
Eleanor Davis
Jaime Hernandez
Kevin Huizenga
Stan Sakai
Raina Telgemeier
David Jesus Vignolli

Best Writer
Drew Edwards
Jeff Lemire
Mark Russell
Erica Schultz
Mariko Tamaki

Best Artist or Penciller
Chris Campana
Colleen Doran
Sanford Greene
Rosemarie Valero-O'Connell
Marianna Pescosta

Best Inker
Keith Champagne
Marika Cresta
Sandra Hope
Maria Llovet
Dan Mora
Hyeondo Park

Best Letterer
Deron Bennett
Jim Campbell
Clayton Cowles
Jared K. Fletcher
Nate Piekos
Cardinal Rae

Best Colorist
Jordie Bellaire
Alessandro de Fornasari
Edson Ferreira
Laura Martin
Dave Stewart

Best Cover Artist
Fabio Alves
Natasha Alterici
Stephanie Hans
Sana Takeda
Christian Ward

Best Series
Banjax (Action Lab Entertainment/Danger Zone)
Bitter Root (Image Comics)
Black Hammer: Age of Doom (Dark Horse Comics)
Forgotten Home (Vices Press/comiXology Originals)
Something is Killing the Children (Boom! Studios)

Best Single Issue or Story
Bitter Root Red Summer Special (Image Comics)
'Hot Comb' in Hot Comb (Drawn & Quarterly)
Second Coming #1 (Ahoy Comics)
Spencer & Locke 2 #1 (Action Lab Entertainment/Danger Zone)
Tales of the Night Watchman: The Steam Banshee (So What? Press)
Usagi Yojimbo #6 (IDW Publishing)

Best Original Graphic Novel
The Adventures of Parker Reef - To Save a Soul (Chris Campana)
BTTM FDRS (Fantagraphics)
Dog Man: For Whom the Ball Rolls (Graphix/Scholastic)
The Hard Tomorrow (Drawn & Quarterly)
Hot Comb (Drawn & Quarterly)
New World (Boom! Studios)
Penny Nichols, Top Shelf Productions (IDW Publishing)
Simon Says (Image Comics)
Snow, Glass, Apples (Dark Horse Comics)

Best Anthology
Dead Beats (A Wave Blue World)
Drawing Power (Abrams ComicArts)
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens (Boom! Studios/Archaia Press)
Strange Tails (Vices Press)
Thought Bubble 2019 (Image Comics)

Best Humor Comic
Fangs (Tapas)
The Handbook to Lazy Parenting (Drawn & Quarterly)
Rick & Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons (IDW Publishing)
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (DC)
Twizted: Haunted High-Ons (Source Point Press)
Wonder Twins (DC)

Best Comic Strip or Panel
The Middle Age, Steve Conley (Andrews McMeel Universal)
Nancy, Olivia Jaimes (Andrews McMeel Universal)
The Nib Editorial Cartoons by Pia Guerra (
Rhymes With Orange, Hilary Price (King Features Syndicate)
Sarah's Scribbles, Sarah Andersen (Andrews McMeel Universal)
Wawawiwa, Andres J. Colmenares

Best Webcomic
The Croaking, echorise
Lore Olympus, Rachel Smythe
Fried Rice, Erica Eng
Penny Arcade, Mike Krahulik and Jerry Holkins
Rocío Diestra, Rocío Diestra
Stand Still, Stay Silent, Minna Sundberg
SubZero, Junepurr

Best Non-fiction Comic Work
Coin-Op Carnival
Grass (Drawn & Quarterly)
In Waves (Nobrow/Flying Eye Books)
They Called Us Enemy (IDW Publishing/Top Shelf)
The Twilight Man (Humanoids)

Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel
Dog Man: For Whom the Ball Rolls (Graphix/Scholastic)
Guts (Graphix/Scholastic)
New Kid (Harper Collins)
Science! The Elements of Dark Energy  (Bedside Press)
The Underfoot: The Mighty Deep, (Oni Press/Lion Forge)

Best Presentation in Design
Going to the Chapel (Action Lab Entertainment/Danger Zone)
Making Comics (Drawn & Quarterly)
Marvel Masterwork Pin-Ups (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)
Moomin: The Deluxe Lars Jansson Edition (Drawn & Quarterly)
New World (Boom! Studios)
Snow White Zombie Apocalypse (Scout Comics)
Stan Sakai's Usagi Yojimbo: The Complete Grasscutter Artist Select (IDW Publishing)
3D Sweeties (Fantagraphics)