Friday, January 8, 2021

Star Wars Timeline

Ah, the Star Wars timeline. There are few franchises as complicated as George Lucas' creation, and now, under the watchful eye of Kathleen Kennedy and Disney, the galaxy is expanding at an unprecedented rate. Thanks to the streaming service Disney Plus, we can expect many, many more Star Wars adventures to come – but knowing exactly where they all fit on the timeline is something of an issue.

Just take, for instance, The Mandalorian. To most die-hard fans, it's fairly common knowledge that the series takes place after Return of the Jedi and before The Force Awakens. But how does the animated series The Clone Wars fit into the Star Wars timeline when it also features characters who have now appeared in The Mandalorian? Well, before we confuse you (and ourselves) further, we should probably just get into our comprehensive timeline.

As for the calendar, everything in the Star Wars galaxy is dated relative to the Battle of Yavin, where Luke Skywalker blew up the first Death Star. So Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith, which takes place 19 years ahead of Star Wars: A New Hope, is set 19 years Before the Battle of Yavin (in 19 BBY). Meanwhile, Star Wars: The Force Awakens takes place 34 years After the Battle of Yavin (in 34 ABY). Now that all that's taken care of, let's start with an at-a-glance guide to the Star Wars timeline.

Star Wars movies and TV shows in chronological order

The Acolyte (Disney Plus)

Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (1999)

Star Wars: Attack of the Clones (2002) 

Star Wars: The Clone Wars (2008-2020)

Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Star Wars: The Bad Batch (Disney Plus)

Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)

Obi-Wan Kenobi series (Disney Plus)

Star Wars Rebels (2014-2018)

Rogue One TV series: Andor (Disney Plus)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)

Star Wars: A New Hope (1977)

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (1983)

Star Wars Resistance (2018-)

The Mandalorian (2019~)

The Book of Boba Fett (Disney Plus)

Ahsoka (Disney Plus)

Rangers of the New Republic (Disney Plus)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017)

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019)